Can I moan about Windows? Just a little?


Once you get into the swing of using your Mac, it could be easy to forget why you ‘switched’. I still use two Windows XP PCs and a Windows XP laptop on a daily basis, so I keep getting a not so gentle reminder.

I decided to rebuild one of the PCs earlier today. It’s a modern machine with an Asus P5N32 SLI motherboard, Intel Core 2 Duo 2.6GHz processor, 2Gb of RAM and two 500Gb SATA disks amongst other things, so it’s no slouch (you’d think). Having installed XP, then Service Pack 2, and finally Service Pack 3, the next task was to check Windows Update for any further updates. At this point, IE 7 greeted me with the message “Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close”. Marvelous! All I’ve installed is the OS and current patches and I’ve encountered my first program crash! IE 7 kept repeating this message every time I tried running it, until I decided to reboot after which the problem magically disappeared. Next I needed to run Disk Manager to change the drive letter of the second hard disk to match what it was previously (ie, from D to F). However, loading Disk Manager made the system ‘unresponsive’ and I was forced to perform a hard reset, after which it seemed to sort itself out.

It’s these frustrations that I don’t miss when I’m using the Mac. I could almost come to expect that when you switch a PC on it simply works as it’s supposed to. Too much to hope for in a Windows world I guess.

Leave a Reply

