Logitech – Old camera, new clothes?


Mac VersionLogitech have just announced a new webcam made specifically for the Mac, with the tongue-twisting name QuickCam Vision Pro webcam for Mac. When I heard the news I almost fell over myself to go and check out the press-release, but when I saw a picture of it I had to feel a little let down.

You see, back in March I purchased a Logitech QuickCam Pro 9000 – a splendid little zooming, auto-focusing, face detecting little unit for Windows users, but merely a high quality static camera for the Mac with a microphone that refuses to work with MacSpeech. Well blow me if this latest addition to their webcam line up looks very similar to my QuickCam Pro 9000. Ok, apart from the colour it looks IDENTICAL. So what about the specs?

  • USB 2.0 connection – check.
  • 2 megapixel sensor – check.
  • Autofocus – check.
  • Carl Zeiss® lens- check.
  • Up to 30 frames per second- check.
  • 960 x 720 pixels – check.
  • Built-in microphone – check.

So what we’re looking at here seems to be the Logitech QuickCam Pro 9000 with a silver bezel on the front, a proper Mac driver and perhaps some upgraded firmware. So does this mean that users like me will be able to use that driver to regain theWindows Version extra features currently lost under OS X? I suspect not, well not unless you can upgrade the firmware in the Pro 9000 to match it’s Mac stablemate. I say that because news is that the new Mac version of the camera will NOT work with Windows, suggesting that the firmware is indeed different. (If it was simply a fancy-coloured Pro 9000 then it would work under Windows with the right driver).

Sadly I suspect that Mac owners of the current QuickCam Pro 9000 like me, will be stuck with their feature-locked cameras and the only option will be to sell them and buy the new Mac model if they want those features back. Life’s like that when it comes to computers.

Leave a Reply

