OS X and my DiNovo Edge are dancing!


Logitech

Logitech

I love it when a plan comes together, and none more so than when you get something working that you thought would be a non-starter. Enter the Logitech DiNovo Edge keyboard. I bought this keyboard back in those dark days when all I had were Windows PCs. The keyboard itself is a triumph of style and build quality and despite the fact that it looks grubby just 5 minutes after you’ve cleaned it, I wouldn’t swap it for the world.

Even so, since I bought my Mac Pro back in February this year, I have had the DiNovo Edge and my MX Revolution mouse plugged into one of the Windows PCs, and have been using Synergy to then share them to my Mac. Today that all changed. I finally took the plunge and decided to plug my Logitech peripherals directly into the Mac and run Synergy ‘server’ there to share them back to my Windows and Linux machines. It took a little tweaking to get the DiNovo keyboard working under OS X, so to save you the trouble I have listed the steps you need to follow below…

1. Go to the Logitech website and download the Logitech Control Centre software for Mac OS X. As at the time of writing, this is on version 2.6.

2. Install the software (even though Logitech don’t officially support the DiNovo Edge under Mac OS X).

3. Now you have 2 choices as to how to connect your keyboard to your Mac. You can either use the supplied Logitech Bluetooth receiver, or the Mac’s built-in Bluetooth if your model has one.

4. If using your Mac’s built-in Bluetooth, make sure it is on and ‘discoverable’, then follow the instructions to pair your Mac with the keyboard. If using the Logitech USB receiver you can skip this step as it’ll automatically discover the keyboard when you press the little connect button underneath.

5. Now this is the important bit for UK users unless you want your @\” symbols scrambled… Open System Preferences and choose International. Select the Input Menu button, then scroll down the list until you find Logitech U.K. Intl. Put a tick by it and also check ‘Show input menu in menu bar’. (Note – if you don’t install the Logitech Control Centre software, you won’t see this keyboard layout option). The joy is that by doing this you don’t have to muck around with key remapping software which can be pretty hairy when it doesn’t work properly (kernel panic anyone?).

6. Close System Preferences then go to the menu bar and click on the little Union Jack flag. From the menu that pops up choose Logitech U.K. Intl.

Hey presto, it works and… the key mappings should be correct. One other thing you could do if you’re a die-hard Windows user like me is to swap the Ctrl and Alt keys around so that Ctrl+C, Ctrl+V etc work as expected. Do this by opening the System Preferences again and choosing Keyboard, then clicking on the Modifier Keys button. Set the Control Key equal to Command, and vice versa.

Ok, the keyboard isn’t 100% supported on the Mac, but it’s pretty close and the following will work:

  • Holding F12 will eject the CD
  • The touch-sensitive sound slider works the Mac’s volume control
  • The mute key works
  • The touch-mouse-pad thing works
  • The sleep key (top left) brings up a prompt to Restart, Sleep, Cancel or Shutdown.
  • The Zoom In and Zoom Out buttons work.
  • The function keys all work as they should.

Unfortunately there’s no way to map the Fn+Function key assignments to applications etc. (I’ll keep

Mac Support

searching), but I’m happy it’s working as well as it does! Incidentally, I’ve also got my Logitech MX Revolution mouse connected to the Mac and the Logitech Control Centre software lets you configure the various buttons and scroll wheels as the MX is fully supported under OS X.

When I get the time, I’ll post up what I did to switch Synergy ‘server’ from the PC to the Mac, given that the Mac version doesn’t have a GUI. Ahh, the joys of being a Unix-clone…

5 Responses

  1. My Edge paired with my mac mini straight out of the box, and the function keys etc all work. The only problem is that it seems to randomly disconnect if it isn’t used after a while. Maybe this is something in the latest OSX upgrade.

  2. Yes, my Edge paired without any problem but while the ordinary function keys work ok (F1, F2, F3 etc.) there’s no way to map the ‘extended’ function keys, i.e. when you press Fn+F1 together, unless I’m missing something.

    Haven’t had any problems with it disconnecting though. It does take a little while to connect if I switch the Mac Pro on from cold so to speak, but once it’s on it stays connected, and even brings the Mac out of sleep ok.

  3. There is a GUI for Synergy on OS X, called SynergyKM. However, it did not work flawlessly for me.

    • I did have a quick look at SynergyKM, however as my Synergy setup is pretty much static, so I set it once (the hard way by doing the config manually) and haven’t needed to change it since, except for the key mapping – as I’m using a Windows keyboard. The version of SynergyKM I looked at was 1.0 beta 6.

  4. Thanks for the guide, it was invaluable.

    Although my keyboard worked out of the box I couldn’t find the @ symbol and that caused much cursing and swearing.

    Now it all works like a dream.

    I have a Dinovo Edge and a Mac Mini as my home PC/entertainment and can’t think of a better combo.

Leave a Reply

