Logitech – stop what you’re doing, I like it.


Logitech seem to be waking up to the world of the Mac, and I’m pleased. But at the same time I’m banging my head against the wall because they’re releasing Mac versions of Windows/PC products I’ve already purchased!!

Logitech QuickCam Pro 9000

Logitech QuickCam Pro 9000

It started with my Logitech QuickCam Pro 9000 – a darned fine webcam with superb resolution, autofocus, face tracking and the like. Only problem is that when you hook it up to a Mac as I have now done, you loose those ‘extra’ features and it becomes a vanilla (albeit very good) webcam. Several months down the line and Logitech have launched the Mac-specific QuickCam Vision Pro which has exactly the same spec and features as it’s Windows/PC sibling. However, the sad news is that if like me you’ve got the PC version, it’s not a case of simply installing a set of Mac drivers or doing a firmware upgrade to enable the features you’ve lost. The Mac version of the camera must be subtly different, so if you want the extra features back then the only option right now is to give your QuickCam Pro 9000 to a well deserving friend and go out and buy the Mac specific QuickCam Vision Pro.

Spot the difference!

Spot the difference!

That I could probably handle – let’s call it my birthday present to myself.

But that’s not the end of it… if you’ve read my mutterings of late, you’ll know I recently hooked up my 9 month old Logitech DiNovo Edge keyboard to my Mac, and was really pleased with the results. It’s about 80% there with just the extended function keys not working – oh and the fact that it’s a Windows keyboard with Windows specific keys. Even so I was pretty smug what with my favourite keyboard working with my favourite computer. That was until I saw today’s announcement that a Mac version of the DiNovo Edge is now available!! Yes it’s got the same gorgeous design as the earlier version, but it’s got Mac keys and it’s 100% Mac compatible, so I’d get my extended function keys back.

Logitech DiNovo Edge Mac

Logitech DiNovo Edge Mac

Is there any way for users of the Windows version to get everything working on the Mac? Well I’ve already installed the latest version of the Logitech Control Centre software for the Mac and the answer seems to be “No”. The software simply doesn’t recognize the keyboard meaning that you’re getting native keyboard support from OS X and so have no way to configure those extra keys.

Will I rush out and buy the Mac DiNovo Edge? My heart says yes, but the head says no (at the moment), because at $159 (and probably the same in £ Sterling – thankyou rip-off Britain!) it’s not a cheap purchase.

Damn you Logitech. You’re doing the right thing but you’re costing me a packet!

Leave a Reply

