The Amazing Kalyway Disk


What to do with my ‘old’ Windows PC? Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe motherboard, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+, 2Gb

Where to install?

Where to install?

of RAM and a very respectable if a little dated 256Mb nVIDIA 7300GT graphics card. All in all not a bad piece of kit. However as an XP machine it had it’s quirks like every so often it would boot up into just a blank desktop, or the network drive connection to it from my Mac Pro would just disappear. I could rebuild it with a fresh install of XP or if I was really tired of living I could plump for XP’s younger fatter brother…. Vista! But where’s the fun in that?

Enter the amazing Kalyway – an ‘enhanced’ version of OS X Leopard designed to be installable on well lets just say hardware that might not bear that little fruity logo.

Having tweaked my BIOS settings so that they approximate what I found on Lifehacker, I popped in the DVD and rebooted. A stream of Linux-style messages filled the screen and the PC then sat motionless for about 10 minutes, appearing to do nothing. then I was greeted with the welcome screen! Accepting all the defaults I worked my way through to the point where Leopard starts installing and off it went.

26 mins to go

26 mins to go

The process appears to have frozen around the ’26 minutes remaining’ mark, so there’s probably some experimenting to do with the various install options, like specifically choosing to load the nVIDIA 256Mb desktop driver, but it’s a promising start.

I’ll let you know how I get on…

Note – the above does of course contravene Apple’s license agreement for Leopard, and I’m still planning to buy a Mac Mini to use as a ‘server’ tucked away in the loft to back up my data to from various places. So if I do succeed with this little exercise, it’ll just be to prove to myself that it can be done.

UPDATE – I restarted the whole process, this time choosing the standard nVIDIA driver on the ‘Customize’ screen, and removing a couple of the obvious drivers for devices I don’t have. The install has got as far as ‘About one minue remaining’ with the blue progress bar almost at the end. I’m tired so I’ll check in on it in the morning.

Leave a Reply

