Windows diNovo Edge keyboard & Leopard – A step forward?


It's there - my Windows diNovo Edge keyboard!

It's there - my Windows diNovo Edge keyboard!

In addition tp my Logitech MX Revolution mouse, I use a Logitech diNovo Edge keyboard with my Mac Pro. It’s not the Mac version of the diNovo Edge, rather it’s the original Windows version with the soft orange lights. It works fine as a basic keyboard with OS X Leopard, and the volume slider, mute button, the ‘Touch Disk’ and the sleep button also work, but that’s about it. None of the extended function keys do anything because the Logitech Control Centre software for OS X doesn’t recognize the diNovo Edge… until now that is. I saw via MacUpdate that version 2.7 of the Logitech Control Centre software has just been released, and seeing as I was using v2.6 I figured I ought to upgrade, so off I went and installed it.

Previously when I launched the Logitech Control Centre (v2.6) in System Preferences, I would be shown my Logitech mouse and asked which device I wanted to configure. There was no sign of the keyboard, so configuring it in Mac OS X was impossible. Now however, it’s started to change. Now when I launch v2.7 of the Logitech Control Centre software, up pops my diNovo Edge keyboard! Surely they haven’t…? Have they…?

I can check the battery level!

I can check the battery level!

Well it’s good news and it’s bad news. First the good news – yes you can select your (Windows) diNovo Edge keyboard and click the Configure button. Click on the General tab and you’ll be able to set the tracking speed multiplier for the Touch Disk and you’ll also be able to see what the remaining battery life is for your keyboard. Both useful additions over the zero-configurability you had before.

But now for the bad news. You still don’t seem to be able to configure any of the other keys on the keyboard, although the option to do so seems tantalizingly close. If you choose the ‘Keys’ tab you get what looks like a screen where you can assign applications to certain keys, but even though it seems you can build a list of apps and their corresponding keystrokes, nothing actually seems to work. I assigned Firefox to the Option-3 key combo but pressing Option-3 did nothing, and I can’t get anything to appear in the Name/Assigned Action list.

So near... and yet so far!

So near... and yet so far!

My guess is that the Windows version of the diNovo Edge is still not oficially supported under OS X and that the fact that now appears in the Logitech Control Centre v2.7 release is just a happy coincidence because some aspect of its operation overlaps with the Mac version of the keyboard. Still, maybe v2.8 of the software will address that and I’ll finally have a fully functional version of the keyboard? Ok, I’m not holding my breath on that one.

2 Responses

  1. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  2. […] Windows diNovo Edge keyboard & Leopard – A step forward? […]

Leave a Reply

