Snow Leopard – Got the disk, but still waiting


Please wait...

Please wait...

Yes I’ve upgraded my Mac Mini to Snow Leopard, and yes I’ve done a test install of it on the Mac Pro using a spare disk, and it looks great. However, much as I’m keen to upgrade to the latest and greatest OS on my Mac Pro… I can’t.

There are a few key applications that are holding me back.

Logitech Control Centre 3.0 – having a Logitech MX Revolution mouse and a Logitech diNovo Keyboard for Mac, the LCC software is pretty much essential. The current version of LCC (version 3.0) won’t even install under Snow Leopard, and although there are some workarounds to get it installed and to get some of the functionality back, it’s not elegant. Logitech are apparently working on a Snow Leopard compatible version of LCC that should be released “any day now”.

Evernote 1.4.8 – I use Evernote all the time for creating and syncing notes between my two Macs and my Windows (work) laptop. While Evernote 1.4.8 will install and run under Snow Leopard, there are certain things that are broken. There is a Snow Leopard compatible version (1.4.9) in the works, but it’s not out yet. As I write this, Evernote 1.4.9 has appeared on MacUpdate!

VMware Fusion 2.0.5 – another of my core apps, I run my work (Windows) desktop under VMware when I’m working from home. Fusion 2.0.5 won’t even load up under Snow Leopard in 64-bit mode, so best to wait for a fix. No timescales on that one…

1Password 2.9.31 – again, this is something I use every day for storing website logins, secure notes, license details, etc. It will work under Snow Leopard with  some caveats, e.g. it only supports Safari in 32-bit mode. For proper supported S/L functionality it seems I should wait for 1Password 3.0 to make it out of beta. As a registered user I can access the latest beta 3.0 version, but given how critical the data is that I store in 1Password, I’d rather wait for the release version to be on the safe side.

Adobe Lightroom 2.4 – home for all my photos and version 2.4 is reported to have issues under Snow Leopard. Another wait…

DropBox 0.6.556 – great for syncing files between my various machines, but it seems a few bits of this version are broken under Snow Leopard. There’s a version 0.6.557 on MacUpdate but it doesn’t mention S/L compatibility. There’s an experimental build 0.7.12 available, but again, I don’t want to trust my data to something experimental.

EyeTV 3.1.2 – apparently it works but there are problems with the sound.

goSecure 1.2 – the developer hasn’t yet confirmed this is Snow Leopard compatible, although I tried it out on my Mac Mini and it seems to work OK.

MailTags 2.3 – the developer has stated that 2.3 isn’t Snow Leopard compatible and that a new version is on the way.

…and there are a few more.

Wake me up when it’s Christmas.

3 Responses

  1. LCC works fine for me with the minor work around. Don’t know what you mean by “not elegant”. There are alternatives to using LCC. There are various ways to do this none of them difficult. 1 Password has had multiple beta version over the last week and all of them work fine. VMware Fusion works fine.

  2. By ‘not elegant’ I was referring to the fact that you have to install it ‘manually’ then you have to copy a couple of files (from Utilities to Apps) to get Expose and Spaces working properly, although it’s still not guaranteed to work. Having said that, if you’re having success with it I might give it a try.

    I did subscribe to the 1Password beta and have tried it out on the Mac Mini. Looks nice, although I may still wait for the final version before taking the plunge. As for Fusion, it’s more of a hassle than anything else. I figure if you’re running Snow Leopard in 64-bit mode then it’s simply a case of configuring Fusion to run as a 32-bit app until there’s an update from VMware. Some of the other apps that are broken – like Lightroom, are more of a worry.

  3. Hi, apparently the dropbox has been sorted.
    Visit http://www.getdropbox.com/help/112
    Let me know how you get on.
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

