Upgrading drives on a Mac Pro – childs play


Voyager QWhat with all the American TV shows that I’m obliged to store (for the ladies that like that kind of stuff), the 1Tb data drive on my 2008 Mac Pro was starting to look a little squeezed. So, I dropped the cash for a new 2Tb SATA drive and set about the upgrade, and I have to say it was easy as pie (largely thanks to my Voyager Q). The whole process went something like this:

  1. Pop the new 2Tb drive into my Voyager Q and use Disk Utility to format it as a single 2Tb partition (Mac OS Extended Journalled) with a volume name of DataDrive2.
  2. Using SuperDuper, copy my existing DataDrive in it’s entirety to DataDrive2. The Voyager Q is connected via Firewire 800 to the Mac Pro but the copy still took over 5 hours.
  3. Once the copy is completed, remove the new drive from the Voyager Q and attach it to a spare Mac Pro ‘sledge’ (drive carrier) that I have.
  4. Take the side off the Mac Pro and slide out the existing DataDrive and slide in the new DataDrive2.
  5. Boot up the Mac and relabel DataDrive2 to DataDrive.

Actually, while I had the side off the Mac Pro I decided to take it outside on to the patio and give the inside a good clean with a can of compressed air and a soft brush. As for the Voyager Q, it’s a really handy device if you ever mess around with 2.2.5″ or 3.5″ drives, and it just gives you such great flexibility when upgrading drives. It connects via USB 2.0, Firewire 800 or eSATA and I usually have a 1Tb scratch disk in it. In fact you can ‘warm’ swap the drive in it just by ejecting the drive in Finder or Disk Utility then physically ejecting the disk from the Voyager Q and dropping in a different one. OS X will then happily see the new drive and mount it, or tell you it needs to be initialized (if it’s a brand new drive).

As for SuperDuper, I use it every day for doing backups of my system partition, and the partition with my VMware virtual machine images, and it’s been a godsend. I’d highly recommend it.

Next on my list of things to do is to upgrade my Lacie d2 Quadra by putting a new 2Tb drive in that. Once this is done, I’ll have two spare 1Tb drives and two spare 1.5Tb drives and I was planning on getting a Drobo to slot these all into as a dumping ground for my video collection when I start ripping all my DVDs. However, I’m starting to lean towards a four bay Synology instead. While it lacks the hot swap capability of the Drobo, it’s so much more than just a plain NAS device plus it supports hybrid RAID using different sized disks, rather like the Drobo. I already have a Synology DS210j and it’s brilliant for both backing up to as well as making photos, music and video accessible to the Mac Mini and the PS3 in the lounge. Just need to save up first!

Tech Specs

In case you’re wondering, I use a Mac Pro (early 2008), 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, 12Gb RAM, 1 x WD Caviar Black 1Tb drive (system partition & VM partition), 1 x WD Caviar Green 1Tb drive (system drive clone & VM drive clone), 1 x WD Green 2Tb (data drive), 1 x WD Green 2Tb drive (Time Machine). In hindsight I would have gone for the 2 x Quad-Core but I was trying to keep costs down when I made the initial purchase. Shame Apple doesn’t really support upgrading this machine to dual Quad-Cores after purchase.

So why 12Gb RAM? Well I run VMware Fusion 3.x and can run up four Windows virtual machines simultaneously, each with 2Gb of RAM and still have 4Gb left for Snow Leopard. I do remote support and having 4 VMs open at once allows me to switch between different client VMs very quickly. I would struggle to set up and run 4 Windows clients like this on any other platform so easily.

Leave a Reply

